Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Research Presentation Day

Room 803 Falaky Academic Center, AUC

Program Outline

The First Research Presentation Day was held on Saturday September 24,2005. The proceedings were launched by the Dean of the School of Sciences and Engineering Dean Medhat Haroun who gave a brief welcoming address. Professor Mark Welland, Co-director of the Center, who flew in from Cambridge in the UK during the early hours of  the morning, followed with a few welcoming remarks of his own. The day then proceeded as outlined in the Program Outline below.

Session I Physical Chemistry

10.00 - 10:15 a.m. Opening Remark
 Dean Medhat Haroun, Professor Mark Welland, Dr. Fadel Assabghy
10:15 – 10:30 a.m Overview: Physical Chemistry
Projects Dr. Adham Ramadan  
10:30 - 10:45 a.m Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) Studies of Processes at the Electrode-Electrolyte Interface
Ms. Malak Eissa
10:45 - 11:30 a.m Coffee break

Session II Materials

11:30 –11:45 am Overview Materials Projects
Dr. Mahmound Farag
11:45 - 12:15 Preparation and Characterization of Nanostructured Shape-Memory Alloys
Mr. Mohamed Elwi and Mr. Omar Mortagy
12:15 – 12:30   A Low Cost Manufacturing Process For The Fabrication of Carbon Nanotube-Reinforced Metal Strips  
Mr. Mostafa El Borady
12:30 – 12:45 Fabrication of Carbon Nanotube-Reinforced Metal Matrix Composites Using Powder Metallurgy Techniques
Mr. Mohamed Emara
12:45 – 1:30   Characterization of Micro and Nano-sintered Aluminum Compact Powders Processed by Equal Channel Angular Extrusion (ECAE)
Mr. Mohamed Shamma, Mr. Ehab Aly and Mr. Khalil El Khodary
1:30 – 1:45 p.m. Fabrication and Characterization of Carbon Nanotube-Reinforced Polymer Matrix Composite
Ms. Hanadi Hussien
1:45 – 2:30 p.m. Lunch

Session III: Microfabrication

2:30 – 2:45 p.m Overview Microfabrication
Dr. Sherif Sedky
2:45 – 3:00 p.m  Depositing High Quality MEMS Sacrificial and Insulator Layers
Mr. Ahmed Alaa ElDin
3:00 – 3.15 p.m Excimer Laser Annealing for Micromachining Applications
Mr. Ahmed Bayoumy 
3:15 – 3:30 p.m PLD OF Bi2 Te3 For Thermoelectric Generators. 
Mr. Ibrahim El Deftar
3:30 – 3:45 p.m Depositing Highly Quality Silicon Carbide At Low Temperature 
Mr.Ibrahim El Deftar
3:45 – 4:00 pm Coffee Break
4:00 – 4:15 p.m  Investigation of Gold/Nickel Metal Films Seposited by Laser ablation for R F Switch Contacts  
Ms. Noha Farghal
4:15 – 4:30 p.m Investigation of Rhodium Metal Films Deposited by Laser Ablation for RF Switch Contacts 
Mr. Joseph E. Zikry
4:30 – 4:45 p.m Optical confinement in Thin Silicon Films Using Porous Silicon and Front Surface Texturization.
Mr. Moustafa Medhat
4:45 – 5:00 p.m Design, Fabrication and Characterization of Micro-Lens Arrays used for Generation of Diffraction-limited Beams. 
Mr. Ahmed Kamal
5:00 – 5:15 p.m Design and Fabrication of Micro-Opto-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MOEMS) Used in Optical Sensors. 
Mr. Ahmed Kamal
5:15 – 5:30 p.m Developing a PLD Technology for Thin Metal Films 
Mr. Hassan Bakr
5:30 – 5:45 p.m Design, Simulation and Implementation of a High Performance Micromachined Gyroscope with Dual Mode Operation.  
Mr. Abdel Hamid Sharaf  
5:45 – 6:00 p.m Closing Remarks: Dr. Fadel Assabghy, Professor Mark Welland

First Row Left: Dr. Mahmoud Farag, Dr. Amal Esawi, Dr. Hanadi Salem, Prof. Mark Welland, Prof. Fadel Assabghy, Dr. Serag El Din Habib, Dr. Sherif Sedky, RA. Joseph Zikry
Second Row Left: Dr. Walid Awad, Dr. Hassan Azzazy, Dr. Adham Ramdan, RA. Dema Abdel Basset, RA. Malak Issa, RA. Hanadi Hussien, Dr. Amr Sharawwi, Dr. Moustafa Ghannam
Standing: Eng. Ahmed Said, RA. Abdel Hamid, RA. Ahmed Bayoumy, RA. Ahmed Alaa, RA. Moustafa Medhat, RA. Moustafa El Borady, RA. Ibrahim El Defatar RA. Omar Mortagy, RA. Mohammed Elwi, RA. Ihab Aly, RA. khalil El Khodary, RA. Mohammed Shamma, Ms. Nelly Tadros, RA. Noha Farghal, Dr. Ahmed Abu Kandeel


Professor Hassan Azzazy Receives the Prestigious National Excellence Prize
Hassan Azzazy, associate dean for graduate studies and research and professor of chemistry, has won the prestigious National Excellence Prize in Advanced Technological Sciences. The award, announced last week by the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, recognizes exceptional applied research activities of scientists. More