Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

CSE and Microsoft Embedded Day 2017

By Khaled El-Ayat, professor of computer science and engineering 

Every year, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at AUC holds Embedded Day sponsored by Microsoft. The event concludes a semester of intense development of complex embedded projects as presented by five competing student teams as part of their Embedded Systems Course CSE 432.

This year it was held on May 14 in School of Sciences and Engineering (SSE) Dean’s conference room and the SSE courtyard.  A video of competition highlights can be seen here.

The theme for 2017 was "Boccherrini & Vivaldi Meets Nvidia," in a reference to the Nvidia corporation's embedded GPU technology used in the projects. Technically, each team must combine and integrate various complex technologies including deep learning and computer vision, wireless networking, distributed client server computing and multi-mobile platform control. It is worth noting, their project is worth 50 percent of their CSE 432 grade and replaces their final. Although the students put in a great deal of hard work, the learning experience was very rewarding.

A team of industrial judges from Microsoft, Mentor and Valeo, as well a number of CSE faculty members selected the top two teams. First place went to SynchroCity – a city of driverless taxis implemented with DAGU cars and all the above mentioned technologies. Congratulations to Ingy Nazif, Farida Soliman, Mohamed Shehab and Shady Fanous for winning first place.

Runner up prizes went to the Virtuosii team, which uses driverless automated cars to collect items from floor and place them in appropriate bins. Congratulations to Yasmin Saad, Mohamed Abaza, Hossam Zerara and Yousef Fawzi for a great project.

It is imperative to acknowledge the other excellent hard-working teams who presented a PacMan game played by robotic cars, which implements a warehouse collection distribution system and RoboDog, which is a robotic dog implemented with robotic cars.

Finally I want to acknowledge my fantastic team of teaching assistants Maged Guirguis, Hesham Eraqi, Haytham Fawzi, Ahmed Abu Saeda and Amr Ellaithy.

Forbes: AUC Trustee, Alumna Rana el Kaliouby Among Leading Women in Artificial Intelligence

Microsoft Developers Conference, March 18 and 19, 2017 

On March 18 and 19, 2017, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering hosted the Microsoft Developers Conference on the AUC campus. The conference was successfully attended by more than 1,200 participants from different cities in Egypt. Ahmed Badr, CIO and VP of operations of siParadigm LLC and Ahmed Bahaa, principal technical consultant of CompuPharaaohs, were two keynote speakers who provided the participants with their knowledge and entrepreneurship expertise. It is worth noting that Badr got his bachelor's and master's in computer science from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at AUC. Microsoft engineers also presented new Microsoft products that assist software developers and data scientists.

For photos of the event, click here and here

Computer Science Program ABET Accredited (2017-2023)

On November 13 - 15, 2016, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering received a mission from the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) for the reaccreditation of the computer science program offered at AUC. The ABET team met with constituents from the program such as faculty, students, alumni and industrial board members, and examined the curriculum implementation and assessment methodology. The mission was completed successfully and the ABET team submitted its recommendation to reaccredit the program for six years (2017-2023) without any reservation. It is worth noting that this was a great achievement for the department, as getting reaccreditation without any concerns is no easy task.

For more information about ABET, click here.

Starting Fall 2017 the Department of Computer Science and Engineering congratulated the following faculty members on their accomplishments:

  • Amr El Kadi for being appointed to STCOS Advisory Board
  • Mohamed Shalan’s proposal “Open Cloud-based Digital ASIC Design Environment” has been chosen by ASRT for funding
  • Sherif Aly has been recognized by ABET as an ABET Expert
  • Mohamed Moustafa has been awarded tenure in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering